FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



John L. Winn Commissioner of Education

Just Read,

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

F. PHILIP HANDY, Chairman

T. WILLARD FAIR, Vice Chairman

Members

DONNA G. CALLAWAY

JULIA L. JOHNSON

ROBERTO MARTÍNEZ

PHOEBE RAULERSON

LINDA K. TAYLOR

June 3, 2005

MEMORANDUM

TO: Community College Presidents

District School Superintendents Private School Administrators

FROM: John L. Winn, Commissioner

SUBJECT: 2005-2006 SUCCEED Florida –Nursing

The 2005 Legislative session authorized \$10,000,000 to increase the capacity of nursing programs approved by the Board of Nursing at public and private postsecondary institutions to enter the workforce in Florida. Public and private postsecondary institutions are eligible to apply. Funds must be used to support new students and are not intended to supplant current funding. Institutions applying for funds shall not reduce funding or the current level of enrollment in its existing program. Any such reduction will result in a prorata reduction in funding.

To assist in preparing the application, the Florida Department of Education has scheduled a conference call for Monday, June 13, 2005, from 2:00 – 3:30 p.m. EDT. The call-in numbers are: toll free (888) 461-8118, local (850) 414-5775, or SunCom 994-5775. Due to a limited number of available lines, institutions are asked to make arrangements to call in from one central location per campus. The purpose of these conference calls is to provide technical assistance related to the development, implementation, and evaluation of expanded nursing programs in Florida. All relevant staff members are encouraged to participate.

Community College Presidents District School Superintendents Private School Administrators Page Two June 3, 2005

Applications with complete instructions will be available on the Division of Community Colleges and Workforce Education's web page at: http://www.firn.edu/doe/dwdgrants/. If you have any questions, please contact Teresa Bestor, Senior Educational Program Director, at (850) 245-9047 or via e-mail to teresa.bestor@fldoe.org.

JLW/br

c: J. David Armstrong, Jr.
Debra Austin
Jim Warford
Ed Moore
Sam Ferguson
Martha Asbury
Bonnie C. Marmor
Harrison Rivers
Stacey Webb
Sue Wilkinson