FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Dr. Eric J. Smith Commissioner of Education



STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

T. WILLARD FAIR, Chairman

Members

PETER BOULWARE

DR. AKSHAY DESAI

ROBERTO MARTÍNEZ

JOHN R. PADGET

KATHLEEN SHANAHAN

LINDA K. TAYLOR

MEMORANDUM

TO: District Superintendents

FROM: Dr. Frances Haithcock

DATE: December 16, 2009

SUBJECT: Task Force: School Improvement Plan

Contact Information

Lena T. Anderson (850) 245-0007

Lena. Anderson@fldoe.org

DPS: 2009-243

As you know, efforts were made last school year to streamline the School Improvement Plan (SIP). With that said, we remain committed to continual improvements to our products and systems. As we look toward next year, we are requesting feedback from the field on what components of the plan should be adjusted, removed, or added.

To accomplish this goal, we are asking you to please designate an individual for each of the following committees to assist in improving the SIP: principals, instructional coaches, and district personnel. Two conference calls will be conducted for each committee to discuss how the SIP can be improved for the 2010-2011 school year.

Please email the following information regarding committee selections to: lena.anderson@fldoe.org by Friday, January 8th.

District Name:

Selection for Principal Committee:

Email Address:

Selection for Instructional Coaches Committee:

Email Address:

Selection for District Committee:

Email Address:

DR. FRANCES HAITHCOCK CHANCELLOR OF PUBLIC SCHOOLS Task Force: School Improvement Plan December 16, 2009 Page Two

After the deadline, an e-mail will be sent to committee members indicating the date and time of the calls.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this request, please feel free to contact Lena Anderson, Executive Director of School Improvement, at (850) 245-0007 or at lena.anderson@fldoe.org.

Thank you for your continued commitment to improving the academic achievement of all students.

FH/nvt