# FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Dr. Eric J. Smith Commissioner of Education



**Contact Information:** 

Jan.Morphew@fldoe.org

Dr. Jan Morphew (850) 245-0657

DPS: 2009-041

#### STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

T. WILLARD FAIR. Chairman

Members

PETER BOULWARE

AKSHAY DESAI

ROBERTO MARTÍNEZ

PHOEBE RAULERSON

KATHLEEN SHANAHAN

LINDA K. TAYLOR

## **MEMORANDUM**

**TO:** Superintendents

FROM: Dr. Frances Haithcock, Chancellor of Public Schools

**DATE:** March 23, 2009

SUBJECT: 2009-2010 No Child Left Behind Technical Assistance Forum

The 2009-2010 No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Technical Assistance Forum, put on by the Florida Department of Education (FLDOE), sponsored by the Florida Association of State and Federal Education Program Administrators (FASFEPA) and the East Coast Technical Assistance Center (ECTAC), will be held on April 28 – 30, 2009, at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Hotel, located at 100 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, Florida 32118. The purpose of the meeting is to provide programmatic assistance to Local Educational Agency (LEA) program coordinators who implement federal programs and the staff responsible for entering the application into the online system for the following federal grant applications:

- 1. Title I, Part A: Improving the Academic Achievement of the Disadvantaged
- 2. Title I, Part A: School Choice with Transportation & Supplemental Educational Services
- 3. Title I, Part C: Education of Migratory Children
- 4. Title I, Part D, Subpart 1: State Programs for Neglected and Delinquent
- 5. Title I, Part D, Subpart 2: Local Programs for Neglected and Delinquent
- 6. Title II, Part A: Teacher and Principal Training and Recruiting
- 7. Title II, Part D: Enhancing Education through Technology
- 8. Title III, Part A: English Language Acquisition
- 9. Title IV, Part A: Safe and Drug-Free Schools
- 10. Title VI, Part B: Rural and Low Income School Program
- 11. Title X, Part C: Education for Homeless Children and Youth

This meeting is primarily focused on the preparation of the applications for the federal programs listed above. It is very important that anyone involved in the completion of these applications attend the technical assistance meeting, including consolidated LEA contacts, grant writers, program contacts, etc.

DR. FRANCES HAITHCOCK CHANCELLOR OF PUBLIC SCHOOLS 2009-2010 No Child Left Behind Technical Assistance Forum March 23, 2009
Page Two

A new feature at this year's meeting will be a session dedicated to online system training. Participants will have the opportunity to learn how to access the system and their LEA online project applications. There will also be a significant discussion on the impact of federal stimulus dollars from a national and state perspective.

A guestroom block is reserved at the <u>Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Hotel</u> under the name of "FASFEPA/ECTAC Forum." Call (386) 254-8200 or (800) 445-8667 for reservations by Tuesday, March 31, 2009, to obtain the special room rate of \$129.00 for a single room.

A registration payment of \$150.00 must be received by April 14, 2009. Payments and assignment to break out sessions will be available on-site; however, the availability of breakout sessions will be limited by the maximum capacity. Acceptable forms of payment are checks and money orders. Please download the <u>registration payment form</u>, and mail checks and money orders to the FASFEPA, attention Diane Dannemiller, 919 North Broad Street, Brooksville, Florida 34601.

The No Child Left Behind Web site will be hosting the online registration at <a href="https://www.fldoe.org/NCLB/2008nclbta\_site.asp">www.fldoe.org/NCLB/2008nclbta\_site.asp</a>. The online registration will close April 14, 2009, at 5:00 P.M. (EST).

Meeting information can be found on any of the organizations' websites: FLDOE; FASFEPA; ECTAC.

If you have questions or need more information, please contact Dr. Jan Morphew at (850) 245-0657, Sara Dixon at (850) 245-9753 or <a href="mailto:Sara.Dixon@fldoe.org">Sara.Dixon@fldoe.org</a>, Felicia Williams-Elliott at (850) 245-0093 or <a href="mailto:Felicia.Elliott@fldoe.org">Felicia.Elliott@fldoe.org</a>, or Vicki Brooks at (407) 317-3200 or <a href="mailto:brooksv@ocps.net">brooksv@ocps.net</a>.

### FH/jm/sd

#### Attachments

cc: Martha Asbury Bacen Lisa Joseph Davis Carlos Guffain Kathy Hebda Rodriguez Lori Kay Scott Wilson Iris